Daily Floor Cleaning

No matter how often I clean my floors, they don’t stay that way for long. I guess thats what I get with super dark wood on our little farm with three kiddos.

My routine is to vacuum and do a quick mop of the main living, dining, kitchen areas each evening while the kids are picking up their toys. (If dinner is done or on auto pilot at this point).  I like the regular Bona Microfiber Mop, not the one with the spray. clean4.jpgclean3 clean1

This is my method.  Vacuum.  Get the water running super hot, wet bona pad, wring it out, add 2 drops of lemongrass oil directly onto the pad, and mop away.  I do a little section at a time, and repeat the process of rinsing the pad in the sink and re apply oil.


NO WATER BUCKET – NO CHEMICALS – NO MESS

This evening routine really does help the rest of our days… it forces the kids to put up all of their toys (even if they just get moved to the floor in the playroom), it forces me to do the dishes before dinner (so that I can use the sink for rinsing mop pad) and it leaves the house reasonably clean for when Stephen gets home and I can go to bed with the house smelling fresh and mostly clean.

clean2

 

Young Living Lemongrass Oil $14.80  (15ml) ** I use approx 8-10 drops per evening – there are approx 250 drops per bottle. (email me to order if you want some – parcdeamato@gmail.com)
BONA Microfiber Floor Mop on Amazon. $21.98 (same price as Walmart – just not delivered to your door for free in 2 days)

Happy new cleaning routine for the new year!

Leave a Reply

